During the summer of COVID 19 2020 Tranmere Rovers Supporters Trust financed and organised the refurbishment of the Johnny King Stand. A group of Trust members volunteered and gave their time throughout July and August applying gallons of ‘Super White’ paint to transform the concourse into a bright corridor with a story board of images and text that traced its history from 1910 to 2002 when it was renamed ‘The Johnny King Stand’.
Tranmere Rovers Official Supporters Club [TROSC] supplied the story board and the ‘Legends’ banners, that had previously hung from lamp posts on Borough Road, to line the inner walls of the stand.
The large Johnny King banner was also relocated from the Trust Fan Park Marquee.
Finally, the Trust commissioned Paul Curtis to add an iconic image of Johnny King and other TRFC artwork to the walls leading to the stand entrance.
Pleased with the results The Trust decided that the Kop and Cowshed would also benefit from a similar ‘Super White’ facelift. As a final touch full colour TRFC crests exit signs were added to the freshly painted stairwells.
On 31st October 2020, prior to the behind closed doors fixture v Morecambe, the improvements were unveiled to the King family in a low-key ceremony with Mark and Nicola Palios also in attendance.
Sadly, the COVID 19 pandemic has temporally restricted the number of games that supporters have been allowed to attend resulting in very few fans being able to appreciate the benefits.
Brewers - The Decorating Centre Birkenhead for supplying initial stocks.
Personify for their production of the TRFC crest signs.
Our team of volunteers.